February 25, 2024

Tanzania Women’s Premier League fixtures 2023/24: JKT, Yanga begin away, Simba at home


JKT Queens celebrating their CECAFA Regional Qualifiers triumph in Uganda.

Spread the love

The complete fixture lists for the 2023-24 season in the Tanzania Women’s Premier League  have been released. The  campaign is due to kick-off on December 20 and and will end on May 17, 2024.

JKT Queens will begin the defence of their Women’s Premier League title away to Bunda Queens in Mara on Wednesday December 20.

Esther Chaburuma’ side are aiming to win a fourth Women’s Premier League title following their winning campaign last term – and will be hoping to get off to a flying start against the newly promoted Bunda Queens side, with kick-off at 4pm.

On the same day, Simba Queens will begin the new season by welcoming  Ceasia Queens.  The game will be played at TFF Kigamboni Centre, with kick-off at 4PM. Simba lost the title JKT Queens by one point 

Fountain Gate Princess who finished third last season  will use the Jamhuri Stadium on the opening day with a home game against Amani Queens.

Yanga Princess

Yanga Princess travel to Dodoma to face Baobab Queens, while Alliance Girls vs Geita Gold complete the line-up for the first round of the campaign.

A difficult start to the season for Yanga Princess sees them face both Simba Queens and Fountain Gate inside the opening five games. The trip to face Fountain Gate Princess will take place on January 10 just after the derby game with Simba Queens.

Yanga Princess under highly rated Zambian coach Charles Haalubono will have another tough assignment in round six when they face defending champions JKT Queens on January 22.

The first heavyweight clashes of the season come in just the third round of fixtures as Simba Queens host Yanga Princess on January 3.

Last season’s top two – JKT Queens and Simba Queens – lock horns for the first time on January 9 – while the reverse fixture is scheduled on April 17.

The 2023/24 Tanzania Women’s Premier League campaign will involve ten teams from nine eight different regions. It will be preceded by a curtain raiser tournament involving the top four teams from the previous campaign.

JKT Queens won the league for the first time in four years, dethroning Simba Queens who had kept the crown for three consecutive seasons. They have won the title three times matching Simba Queens. In fact all the six league crowns have been shared between Simba Queens and JKT Queens. 

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *