Foreign-based quartet joins Taifa Stars camp ahead of World Cup qualifiers

Spread the love

Foreign-based quartet of defender Haji Mnoga, midfielder Ben Starkie, goalkeeper Kwesi Kawawa and striker Simon Msuva have linked up with Taifa Stars as the team steps up preparations for the upcoming 2026 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers against Niger and Morocco.

The four players arrived in the country on Monday morning and went straight to the residential training camp at Golden Tulip Masaki to join their local based teammates who reported on Saturday.

Haji Mnoga, Ben Starkie and Kwesi Kawawa

The foreign-based contingent is set to be further bolstered with the arrival of players like Greece based Mbwana Samatta, Himid Mao, based in Egypt, Novatus Miroshi, who turns out for Ukrainian side Shakhtar Donetsk , Abdi Banda and Baraka Majogoro, based in South Africa.

The team is expected to depart for Morocco on Thursday aboard Air Tanzania. President Samia Suluhu Hassan has offered Taifa Stars a chartered flight to ease logistics concerns, as revealed by the Permanent Secretary of Ministry of Culture, Arts and Sports, Gerson Msigwa.

Tanzania will attempt to qualify for the World Cup finals for the first time and are drawn in Group E with Morocco, Zambia, Niger, Eritrea, and Congo. The group winner will qualify for the World Cup final tournament in USA, Canada and Mexico.

On Saturday, Taifa Stars will kick off their World Cup qualification campaign with a challenging fixture against Niger that will be played in Marrakech, Morocco. Three days later, they will host group favourites Morocco in Dar.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Beno Kakolanya (Singida Fountain Gate ), Aishi Manula (Simba SC), Aboutwalib Mshery (Young Africans), Kwesi Kawawa (Karlslunden, Sweden), Metacha Mnata (Young Africans).

Defenders: Dickson Job (Young Africans), Bakari Mwamnyeto (Young Africans), Ibrahim Hamad (Young Africans), Lusajo Mwaikenda (Azam FC), Nickson Kibabage (Young Africans), Haji Mnoga (Aldershot Town, United Kingdom), Abdi Banda (Richards Bay, South Africa), Edward Manyama (Azam FC), Novatus Miroshi (Shakhtar Donetsk, Ukraine), Edwin Balua (Tanzania Prisons), Abdulmalik Zakaria (Namungo FC), Omary Mvungi (FC Nantes, France).

Midfielders: Ibrahim Joshua (Tusker FC, Kenya), Mzamiru Yassin (Simba SC), Sospeter Bajana (Azam FC), Baraka Majogoro (Chippa United, South Africa), Feisal Salum (Azam FC), Mudathir Yahya (Young Africans), Morice Abraham (FK Spartak, Serbia), Himid Mao (Tala’ea El Gaish, Egypt), Ladaki Chasambi (Mtibwa Sugar).

Forwards: Mbwana Samatta (PACK FC, Greece), Simon Msuva (JS Kabylie, Algeria), John Bocco (Simba SC), Kibu Denis (Simba SC), Abdul Suleiman (Azam FC), Ben Starkie (Basford United, United Kingdom), Matteo Anthony (Mtibwa Sugar), Charles M’mombwa (Macarthur, Australia), Clement Mzize (Young Africans).

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *